Is Tanzanite really rare?

HS

Is Tanzanite really rare?

Post by HS » 3 months ago

I've been hearing how rare it is since the late 1970s. Frankly, I'm sick of hearing about how rare it is and how it's "running out" when JTV, GSN (Gem Shopping Network), Gemporia, TSC (Today's Shopping Channel, Canada), TVSN (Australia), and Shop LC/TJC show tons of it day and night.

I like Hunter but when he goes on and on about it (like all hosts), I still don't want to buy any of it. After being bombarded with it for decades from the likes of Kathy Levine, QVC, and Judy and Paul Deasy-Crowell (Mr. Judy Crowell LOL), I still don't understand why it's so pricey.

I'd rather have Paraiba tourmaline. Both Paraiba and Tanzanite require treatment to achieve the color they are famous for, so...

I'll see you in the year 2034 when Tony is still telling us how rare and limited Tanzanite is.
2 x

Bella

Re: Is Tanzanite really rare?

Post by Bella » 3 months ago

Tanzanite is ugly when it comes out of the ground! Most overhyped gemstone since diamonds. They really marketed both gemstones perfectly to make customers feel the need to purchase and guilty for not buying a diamond for an engagement ring.
All marketing BS!
2 x

Spinoza

Post by Spinoza » 3 months ago

HS & Bella —

Agree with both of you. It’s clear Tony Baloney & SLC have a truckload of Tanzanite (of various qualities) in stock and are doing their best to unload it by using the same old threats over and over and over to get people to buy it. “It’s rare!” “Supply is limited!” “You’ll never see it at these prices again!” “This is the best deal EVER, can’t believe we’re doing it at this price, once it’s gone it’s gone for good”, etc! 🤣

If it’s that rare & great, why don’t they lock it away for 5 years or so and then sell it to private collectors with deep pockets for huge profits? 🤔