Who's Driving Up Prices in Auctions?

msplumuniq

Who's Driving Up Prices in Auctions?

Post by msplumuniq » 4 years ago

I'm a newbie here and to SLC. I'm reading reviews about fake gems and such, etc, and thinking, "Uh-oh." I ordered hubby a ring for Christmas on budget pay. Supposed to be a real black diamond. It's a large stone, so we assumed it meant zirconia. It says diamond, but that's unreal and makes no sense. I'll take it to a jeweler.

I like the two clothing items I've ordered so far, and have more in the way. Having said that, one "poncho" tore in the sleeve, it was NOT properly back stitched to prevent this. Fortunately, (since I paid so little) I can sew. I'll add solid backstitching reinforcements to the sleeves. Easy enough.

Anyway, my problem is with the auction handbags.
Sometimes, deals are reasonable. But last night, I was seeing crazy prices for faux leather like $38-$45, or more!! And the more expensive leather names, like Elsie, going past $100?!?

Who's the person/people doing this and why? I mean, hello, the same items sell on the site for half as much or a little more! I saw a Newage bag go for over twice the price as one that was the SAME model on the site!

I mean, either someone on the inside is driving bidding up, or too addicted to winning to care about price! But that's crazy either way. I go to the auctions for deals, not unrealistic price Wars! If these are legitimate bidders, then they're doing themselves AND the other bidders a disservice by inflating the prices! I saw one lady bid on a Sukriti handpainted bag for over $75 in the beginning of an auction (max bid). Same bag sells for $79.99. I can't recall how high it went in the end, but but it was over $100!!!
Over $100! That's just nonsensical. Why would anyone pay $20 more than regular price on an auction? Am I missing something here?